2010 National Whistleblower Assembly

The 2010 National Whistleblower Assembly was held May 24 and 25 in Washington, D.C.  Resources for those interested in the conference are listed below.


Co-Sponsored by:

Government Accountability Project
National Treasury Employees Union
Project on Government Oversight


Dr. James Murtagh
The Employment Law Group
Katz, Marshall & Banks

2010 National Whistleblower Assembly

The Final Countdown: Honoring 10 Years of Commitment

We are pleased to invite you to the 2010 National Whistleblower Assembly, a two-day conference on Capitol Hill in Washington DC, on Monday, May 24, 2010 and Tuesday, May 25, 2010. Entitled “The Final Countdown: Honoring 10 Years of Commitment,” this year’s conference will act as a collective final push to get the Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act (WPEA) out of Congress and adopted into law.

The 2010 National Whistleblower Assembly Aims to:

  • Establish a cohesive social network between whistleblowers
  • Provide an outlet for direct legislative campaigning
  • Celebrate ten years of devoted advocacy to strengthen the Whistleblower Protection Act

The Conference Will Feature:

  • A plenary session with our congressional allies
  • Theme-based workshops led by prominent whistleblowers and good government organizations
  • A national security panel with star whistleblowers in the industry
  • Street law and update informational sessions
  • A meet and greet with the new appointees to the MSPB, OSHA, and ARB
  • Lobby training and optional lobbying appointments with congressional offices

To RSVP to this event, please send an e-mail to Becky Jones at GAP

SupportWhistleblowers@gmail.com or call (202) 457-0034 ext. 127.


Monday, May 21

Plenary Session

  • Keynote Speaker: Frank Serpico, Retired NYPD Whistleblower
  • Message from White House: Norm Eisen, Counsel for Ethics and Government Reform
  • National Security Speaker: Mike German, FBI Whistleblower and ACLU National Security Policy Counsel
  • Congressional Speakers: Representative Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) and Lisa Powell, Staff Director of the Senate Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs Committee


  • Air Safety, FBI, Media Training, Medical, Corporate/ Occupational Safety
  • Street Law Sessions for New Whistleblower Rights in the Stimulus Law and Health Reform

National Security Luncheon

  • Awards: Jack Spadaro, Lifetime Achievement Award; Daniel Meyer, Public Servant Award
  • National Security Whistleblower Panel:
      • Robert MacLean (Former Federal Air Marshal)
      • George Sarris (Air Force Mechanic)
      • Franz Gayl (DoD Civilian Science and Technology Advisor)
      • Coleen Rowley (former FBI Special Agent and 9/11 Whistleblower)
      • Jesselyn Radack (former DoJ Ethics Lawyer)

    Chair: Chris Schoppmeyer (Vice President of the Federal Law Enforcement Officers)

Lobby Training

Intensive lobby training introducing and reinforcing general lobbying skills as well as talking points for lobbying on behalf of whistleblower rights

POGO’s Meet the New Appointments

  • MSPB Chairwoman Susan Grundmann, Vice Chairwoman Anne Wagner and Member Mary Rose
  • ARB Chairman Paul Igasaki and Vice Chairman Cooper Brown
  • OSHA Assistant Secretary Dr. David Michaels

Tuesday, May 22

  • Opening Remarks/Light Breakfast
  • Lobbying on the Hill
  • Closing Remarks and Whistleblower Speaker
  • Post-Conference Social Gathering

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *